The First Post

It’s about time. I’ve finally decided to join the world of blogging! This is my first post ever, so please be try to be patient and understanding if this first post turns out to be completely unoriginal and god-awful boring. I suppose I’ve created this blog as a means of expressing my observations and frustrations with people and the world, and hopefully I can do it without coming across as too much of a cranky cynic.

I’m a huge introvert, which obviously has a major influence on how I choose to live my life. My introverted nature combined with a general dislike of most people means I could live a pretty content life as a hermit in solitude. I actually tried that out once during a long bout of depression, but I wasn’t happy with the results. I need about one or two special people in my life. That’s enough. It’s really about all I can handle.

I just graduated with my B.A. in Psychology about a week ago and will soon begin my first semester of grad school in the fall. Ironically enough, of all fields, I’ve decided to pursue a career in social work. It’s quite the conundrum to feel so annoyed with people but wanting to spend your life helping them. I’m just crossing my fingers and hoping this works out for the best.

My main interests are shoegaze music, cats, vintage fashion (anything from 1920s-60s), reading novels, going on picnics, the beach, thrift store shopping, David Lynch films, art, and getting involved in an occasional crafty project. I don’t consider my taste in music, film, fashion, etc. to be extraordinarily obscure, but it’s obscure enough in the areas that I’ve lived.

I suppose this is enough for my first post, and I’ll most definitely share more of myself and my interests along the way. For anyone who happens to stumble across my blog, I’d love to receive comments, feedback, or any constructive criticism you might have to offer. Other than that, hope everyone out there is happy, in good health, and loving life! Ciao.

4 thoughts on “The First Post

  1. Your about page said I had to read this. And if someone tells me to read something, I will. Anything. Novels? Of course. Magazines? Yeah, sure. Shampoo bottles? Well, obviously.

    Where was I? Oh yes. I like you. I mean, I don’t know you, at all, but… You’re cool! I’m an introvert. I also have GAD, OCD and SAD, am terrified of people but want to help them in any way I can. I’m a knot, basically, and every time I try to unpick myself I get lost and more tangled. You have a Psychology degree, you figure it out :p I also, especially, like cats. Cats are my favourite.

    I feel like a stalker. I am a stalker. I also like to talk, which is difficult as I don’t like conversation. Hi.

    • Hehe, I might have the psych degree, but I doubt I should be trusted to do any untangling! I can’t even figure out myself and probably won’t ever succeed at it. It seems that you and I may have more than a couple things in common. Introverts are pretty damn cool in my book, and my blog really likes stalkers, so please stalk all you want. I’m off to stalk yours now! 😀

Leave a Reply

