Finding Success with Online Dating

Whether you think it’s a great thing, a terrible thing, or something that only freaks and geeks use, online dating has become much more popular in the past decade. For anyone who is contemplating whether they should try online dating, I encourage you to give it a shot. I’ve had a decent amount of experience with online dating, and some experiences were a lot better than others. I think there’s too much of a negative stigma associated with online dating. Yes, there are a number of douchebags, nut jobs, liars, cheaters, and overall unpleasant characters to be found on a dating site, but don’t you encounter these people in the real world, too? For anyone who’s using good judgment, I’d expect them to have a mix of positive, negative, and perhaps neutral experiences with online dating. I took it as a great learning experience! After a couple lousy dates, you can pretty quickly catch onto some warning signs and things to avoid (because there’s definitely a lot to avoid on a dating site!) I’ll try to throw in some warning signs and advice of my own that might lead to more success in your dating endeavors.

Today is actually an appropriate day for this post because today is my 1 year and 4 month anniversary with my boyfriend whom I met on OkCupid. That’s right! I’m living proof that love can be found on a dating site. This is my first relationship ever, and his personality complements mine better than anyone I’ve ever known. I’m actually surprised sometimes that I’m really in a relationship with someone I love who loves and appreciates me in return. I thought I was doomed to be a lonely, crazy cat lady forever and ever! To be realistic, though, I don’t think most people who try online dating are so lucky. It seems like a lot of people quickly give up on online dating after meeting a few rotten apples. Others just keep making the same mistakes over and over and wonder why nothing good ever happens. Well, I’m here to tell you that online dating isn’t easy, but there’s the possibility that it can lead to something wonderful in the end if you’ve got the right attitude and are able to stick with it.

Here are a few bits of advice I can offer based on my experiences:

  1. Trust your intuition. Our intuition isn’t 100% accurate, but it’s helpful to be somewhat skeptical when dating, especially when it’s someone you’ve met from the internet. When you get the gut feeling that something doesn’t seem right or that this person isn’t right for you, you should seriously consider why you feel that way. I made this mistake of not trusting my intuition and judgment way too often and felt like an idiot in the end.
  2. Don’t wait too long to meet. Remember that as long as you’re chatting online with someone, you don’t truly know this person. If you begin liking this person before meeting, you’re susceptible to falling in love with a fantasy. This person could be intentionally lying to you, or it could be as simple as not having any chemistry at all in person. Save yourself the time and disappointment by arranging to meet early on.
  3. Meet in a public setting. This is an obvious one, but it’s a smart and safe idea. Unfortunately, too many men can get the wrong idea if you invite them to your home. Not all guys are the same of course, but invite them over only when you’ve established a decent amount of trust in this person.
  4. Let your true self shine through on both your dates and on your profile. Sure, it’s another obvious one, but don’t be guilty of false advertising. Admit your strengths and weaknesses so that the right person can come along and appreciate you for who you really are. If you expect honesty from your dates, then you better be willing to provide the same to them.
  5. How detailed is their profile? I’m not saying that this a surefire strategy to snatch up a great date, but it makes sense if someone has put some time and thought into their profile that they’re probably more serious about dating (and not that other activity that begins with a f and ends with a g). I found that men who provided lots of detail on their profile seemed to be the most interesting and sincere people to talk to on there. Again, a detailed profile doesn’t always equal dating material, but it might be an indicator of their real intentions.
  6. Stay away from anyone who’s still hung up on an ex. As soon as they mention their ex’s name and how they’re still good friends, be very wary. Dating should be about starting something new. Not dwelling on the past.
  7. Have fun and keep an open mind. Be willing to meet a wide variety of people. Stop focusing on the idea of finding your future bride/groom. A date doesn’t have to lead to anything at all. Take it as an opportunity to figure out what you do and do not want in a partner. You might make a new friend or learn something new!
  8. Don’t be too open-minded. Ok, now it sounds like I’m contradicting myself. I think it’s great to be open-minded, but never lower your standards. If someone just seems too weird or too crazy or too cocky or too whatever, it might be a good idea not to waste your time. This kind of goes along with using your judgment. Have an idea of what you want and try not to stray too far from it or you might end up on some awkward or nightmarish dates.
  9. Look at how they treat their family, friends, and pets. This might seem silly at first glance, but it’s important to consider how much respect and care this person gives to the people in his/her life. It’s probably a good indication of how you will be treated in a relationship with this person. People who can’t care for their pets and their own needs probably lack the capacity to meet your needs in the relationship.
  10. Avoid those with untreated mental illness. Some people might cope well with their illness without any form of treatment, but it’s very smart to be wary here. Too many people can appear normal and tolerable until an episode of some sort hits. And instead of trying to calm the effects of their illness, they let it run wild. It’s not always a hopeless situation, but it can be challenging to deal with if you meet the wrong person.
  11. Be patient. For anyone who’s found success through online dating, it likely didn’t happen overnight. It took me 2 years of online dating before I ever started a relationship. Be prepared to be disappointed before anyone ever sweeps you off your feet.
  12. Don’t become burnt-out with it. After enough letdowns and lackluster dates, any person is prone to giving up. I met enough jerks to become far too bitter and cynical towards men, especially those found on dating sites. The best strategy here is to take breaks from dating. Some sites allow you to disable your account until you want to come back. When you start feeling bitter, spend some time focusing on yourself and what makes you happy. You can’t expect success if you’re spending all your time being too negative and cynical. Once you’re feeling optimistic again about yourself and dating, give online dating another go! Put your best self out there.

I hope someone reads this and finds it useful or at least feels encouraged to keep trying after reading another success story. There are lots of websites out there offering good advice on online dating, but I wanted to compile my own list of tips that I used which ultimately led to my success. For those of you who’ve tried online dating, did you find any success with it? What’s been your longest relationship that was created through a dating site? Is there anything else you can contribute that might help someone who’s new to online dating?

10 thoughts on “Finding Success with Online Dating

  1. yep, im a lucky guy to have found such a wonderful woman as you. The site looks great and you did a good job. Just giving my 2 cents hehe. You are also a great writer and thanks to you im also a believer that internet dating works and can work. I ❀ you! πŸ˜‰

  2. I agree with all you have said, Manda! As you know, I’m jumping in again… hoping for the best, maybe a little more open than I have been in the past. I have another one to add to this list: beware of people who talk mostly about themselves — either in the profile, on the phone or, of course, in person. If they cannot be “other centered” in the beginning, it will only become worse over time. I base this on lots of experience! I look forward to reading more!

    • Yes, it’s a really good idea to avoid those who focus too much on themselves. I never encountered too many of them while dating, but my former best friend was very guilty of leaving me out of the conversation. It’s very frustrating and annoying to have someone like that in your life. Thank you for adding to the list! And again, I’m wishing you nothing but the best in your future dating endeavors. I look forward to seeing how things go. : )

  3. Pingback: The First Three Contenders « lovehaunt

  4. This is actually really great advice. A lot of times I focus on (and blog about) the horror stories… but thinking about it in a positive way with constructive and realistic ideas to keep in mind. I’ve been online dating on and off for about a year and a half. No “success” so far as far as a LTR, but I’ve had two almosts…he’s out there I think. πŸ™‚

    • Yes, he IS out there! πŸ˜‰ If a weird chick like me can create a satisfying relationship from a dating site, I feel like it should be possible for everyone. And trust me when I say I’m very picky and weird and peculiar and didn’t have much interest in other guys before him. I feel lucky, and being persistent in the crazy world of online dating seriously paid off. I really hope you’ll stick with it because there are a few good ones out there! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

