My latest music discovery: Keep Shelly in Athens

Mmhmm, yet another new band has managed to impress me. I stumbled upon this band rather haphazardly on youtube last night. They’re a chillwave band, which isn’t really my favorite genre, but I find myself liking a good amount of stuff associated with chillwave and downtempo. When I first heard A Song To Cheer You Up, I was immediately reminded of bands like Everything But the Girl and Lovespirals. I went ahead and downloaded their latest album. My ears are pleased. πŸ™‚

Hope you enjoy this lovely tune.

11 thoughts on “My latest music discovery: Keep Shelly in Athens

  1. I need to start experiencing some new sounds. I am so much a creature of habit, that a song has to play on every station and in every store for a month before I will accept it lol

    • I’m no expert on chillwave, and really most genres except shoegaze and dream pop, but I’d say it’s similar to chillout. I think what separates it is that a lot of chillwave music tends to have a nostalgic ’80s sound, like the band Washed Out.

Leave a Reply

