Shoegaze Music for Fall Weather

Now that September is already here, I’m actually looking forward to the cooler weather and crisp, colored leafs that will soon arrive. There really won’t be any signs of autumn in my neck of the woods until maybe mid-October, but I’m in the mood for a change. Late spring and summer is actually my favorite time of the year, so the transition into fall is often bittersweet. While I anticipate the change, I know I must let yet another wonderful summer end.

There are a couple things I love about fall, though. One is I get to bring out the boots, jackets, and pretty scarves in my closet that have been neglected for too long. It probably didn’t surprise you I’d bring up the fashion aspect of it. The other thing is all the amazing music I associate with fall weather. I’m wondering, do any of you associate certain songs or styles of music with fall? It makes me think of atmospheric, ambient music, folksy songs, alt-country, or something that’s a bit pensive and sad. Mellow and bittersweet might be good ways of describing autumn music.

I decided to compile a list here of a few songs which always seem to remind me of fall. The reality might be that I’ve listened to some of these songs during a particular fall and now associate the song with the season. I should also point out that only about half this list is shoegaze music, but I hope every one of you will enjoy something here. If any of you have songs that remind you of fall, feel free to share them.

1. Feedback Song – Flying Saucer Attack

2. Drake – Beth Gibbons & Rustin Man

3. Wickerman – Pulp

4. Into Dust – Mazzy Star

5. Crescent Moon – Cowboy Junkies

6. She Is the Daylight – Flying Saucer Attack

7. Catch the Breeze – Slowdive

8. Take It Easy – Air Formation

9. We’re an American Band – Yo La Tengo

10. Painbirds – Sparklehorse

3 thoughts on “Shoegaze Music for Fall Weather

  1. Great post! So introspective. Summer has always been my favorite season and I’m always sad to see it go. As I’ve gotten older, I’ve learned to appreciate the beauty of autumn. Here in the Northeast, we are already starting to see the first signs of the changing leaves. I’m with you. It puts me in a melancholy mood. (Well, pretty much everything does.)

    I, too, have music that I associate with fall. I’m a jazz buff and I love old standards. The ones written in minor keys, with a bluesy, wistful feel connect me with the season. One of my favorites, no surprise, is “Autumn Leaves”, a song about yearning for lost love. It’s written in G minor and gives one that feeling of having lost something that will never return. Some absolutely beautiful improvisations have been played over its changes and it’s a favorite of mine to play on my alto.

    • Ah, introspective is another very good descriptive word for fall music! I love how fall music tends to evoke that certain mood I struggle to put into words, but it definitely has the capacity of creating a terribly nostalgic feeling sometimes, too. Now I know I’m not the only one who struggles to let summer go. I hear so many people are eager for cold weather to get here. That’s probably the part I hate most about fall/winter.

Leave a Reply

