Are you willing to give up all of your rights?

https://i1.wp.com/constitutioncenter.org/images/uploads/subnav/_thumbnail/bill-of-rights-callout-lg.jpg

Last time I checked, having guaranteed rights was a good thing. You know, I’m talking about those basic rights, like the right to freedom of speech, the right to vote, and the right to bear arms. There is no doubt that we are living in a time when these basic rights are not always guaranteed, and every day it seems that someone is trying to take away another one of our rights. But here’s what I want to know, how do you feel about losing your basic rights? Do you want to give them up without a fight?

My boyfriend called me yesterday and told me he had to step away from his coworkers for a minute. He sounded appalled and disgusted by what they were saying. He said there was a petition going around and that his coworkers said they were willing to sign it. If you haven’t heard about this yet, I hope you’re as equally disgusted as I was when I first heard about it. This petition asks people to help repeal the bill of rights. That’s absurd enough, but what’s worse is that so many people simply said, “Sure, I’ll sign it.” What is wrong with these people?!

I immediately hopped online to search for this petition and quickly discovered it was fake. Mark Dice is a political activist who pulled this prank to see how many people would actually sign the petition. It was a huge relief to know that this was nothing more than a prank, but then I still felt really disturbed due to the fact that so many Americans were eager to sign a petition that could help take away all of their rights.

Seriously, I don’t know what’s dumber – most Americans or to have an ounce of faith in humanity! I hate to say this, but the average person is so uneducated and misinformed about everything that I think we are doomed to fail.

If you have any faith at all left in people, you probably don’t want to watch this video of Mark asking people to sign the petition. It’s kind of funny, but not really.

2 thoughts on “Are you willing to give up all of your rights?

  1. This is seriously scary. To think that this many people could be so ill-informed. And they can all vote! It’s no wonder this country is a mess. Yes, we have politicians who are self-serving and polarized and care nothing for us, but who puts them in office?

    • Yep, and it’s so sad that people support ANYTHING Obama says and does just because he’s “black” and a “liberal.” How can people not see all the lies and corruption? I would have no objection if there was suddenly a test that people had to pass before they voted! I absolutely hate how dumb people have become because it’s making it even harder for me to relate with them. I’m glad to know you pretty much feel the same way about Americans. Maybe we’ll get out of all this mess some day….Thanks for reading and commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

